With the window for applications slamming shut yesterday afternoon, the official lineup for S10’s parliamentary candidates has been confirmed.

The nation will head to the polls on 12 December after Parliament voted in favour of the second snap election in less than three years.

A total of nine political parties have put forward candidates for the seats of Sheffield Central and Sheffield Hallam, with two independents also in the hat.

Bar the Conservative Party’s Ian Walker, Hallam has an entirely new lineup to choose from after former Labour Party member Jared O’Mara declared he will not contest his seat.

For Sheffield Central meanwhile, Paul Blomfield hopes to retain the seat he first earned in May 2010 when he took over from former Cabinet member Richard Caborn; Yorkshire Party candidate Jack Carrington is the only returning challenger from the 2017 contest.

Here are the official candidates.

Sheffield Central

Paul Ward | Brexit Party
Janice Silvester-Hall | Conservative
Alison Teal | Green Party
Barry James | Independent
Paul Blomfield | Labour
Colin Ross | Liberal Democrats
Chris Marsden | Socialist Equality Party
Jack Carrington | Yorkshire Party

Sheffield Hallam

Terence McHale | Brexit Party
Ian Walker | Conservative
Natalie Thomas | Green Party
Elizabeth Aspden | Independent
Olivia Blake | Labour
Laura Gordon | Liberal Democrats
Michael Virgo | UKIP